Let´s explore today’s “PYP Inquiry Box” content: Authors and Stories

#

Title

Summary

1.      

AUTHORS AND STORIES

INQUIRY BOX

PYP Springboard inquiry boxes can be used flexibly by teachers and students of the International Baccalaureate® Primary Years Programme, supporting a school's inquiry programme and the teaching of the units of inquiry.

The Authors and stories Inquiry Box is for ages 6-9. It contains a collection of mixed-ability fiction books to enable students to practise research skills and explore their own lines of inquiry within the unit. The teacher's manual gives guidance and support offering: 
  Links to the appropriate transdisciplinary themes and skills, key concepts and PYP attitudes

  Suggestions for central ideas

  Questions to ask the students to provoke meaningful discussion and inquiry

  Ideas for learning engagements

  Flexible assessment sheets and research organisers

  Formative and summative assessment ideas

  Links to the learner profile

  Links to other disciplinary concepts.
 

  • Provides age-appropriate fiction books, including books for more/less able readers, to be used flexibly by the student for inquiry but not constrained by grade or level.
  • The series covers a broad range of units, reflecting the variety found within IB® schools' programmes of inquiry and addressing some of the more challenging units to resource.
  • The manual contains non-prescriptive, flexible support for the teacher to use and adapt to develop strong units of inquiry.
  • The author is an experienced PYP practitioner and professor of international education and the series editor is well- respected PYP expert, Simon Davidson.

 

2.      

AUTHORS AND STORIES

Teacher´s  Manual

 

 Implement the PYP and give students the full breadth of high quality inquiry learning with this non-prescriptive, flexible support. This Teacher s Manual provides guidance and practical suggestions on how to deliver the unit of inquiry. Each manual includes links to the appropriate transdisciplinary themes and skills, key concepts, PYP attitudes and learner profile to save you valuable preparation time. It is also included as part of the relevant Inquiry Box with a selection of age-appropriate fiction and non-fiction.

3.      

KING ARTHUR

A graphic classic on the story “The sword in the stone”

4.      

BEOWULF, GRENDEL AND THE DRAGON

These exciting new TreeTops Myths and Legends are guaranteed to appeal to all your junior readers - whatever their cultural background, gender or enthusiasms. These are the oldest and most enduring stories in the world, retold by leading contemporary children's authors to bring out all of the action, drama, humour and depth of the original stories in a way that makes them as exciting and meaningful today as ever. 

5.      

DAVID AND GOLIATH

Each story in the series is retold in about 500 words with bright and cheerful pictures.

6.      

FIRST GREEK MYTHS: ARION THE DOLPHIN BOY

Friendly and accessible Greek Myth retellings, with clear type and irresistible illustrations.

7.      

AMAZING GREEK MYTHS OF WONDER AND BLUNDERS

From Hercules' snake assassin slippers to Arachne's wicked weaver rap songs, these are the mythic monsters and Hellenic heroes that have captured Western culture for centuries--but a whole lot more fun. Each story showcases the wondrous and blunderful antics of gods and mortals in bright graphics that rival the super-heroic action of The Lightning Thief, burst with the knock-yoursocks- off humor of Jeff Kinney, and still remain unerringly faithful to the original myth. Kids won't be able to resist the bickering sheep, unruly rulers, and undercover details of Amazing Greek Myths--while teachers, librarians, and parents can relish this new way to share moral messages that remain as relevant today as they were a thousand years ago.

8.      

TALES OF SUN AND SKY

This book contains three powerful stories based on myths from ancient Greece and Rome in 'The Horses of the Sun' Phaethon...

9.      

GULLIVER IN LILLIPUT

Gulliver loves to travel. But when he is swept overboard from a ship, and finds himself tied up in a land populated by tiny people, he realizes some adventures aren't quite as much fun as they should be. Can Gulliver escape the clutches of the tiny Lilliputians?

10.   

THE GOLDEN TOUCH AND OTHER GREEK MYTHS

Title      The Golden Touch: And Other Greek Myths

Everyday Book Box. Green

Author  Lori Mortensen

Illustrated by     Lisa Weber

Publisher          Scholastic, 2011

Length  24 pages

11.   

THE LOST DIARY OF ERIK BLOODAXE, VIKING WARRIOR

Viking Scandal - Gorblime tells all. Newly discovered diaries and logbook entries reveal that famous Viking king, Erik Bloodaxe, couldn't write. However, his court poet Gorblime could! You read it here first - astonishing details of life in Viking times. This work talks about battles and butchery; longships and love; births, marriages and plenty of deaths; poems and prisoners; Erik's victories and his wife's vengeance; Viking gods and Viking myths; travel and adventure; and much, much more! You've never read anything like it before!

12.   

MAGIC TREE HOUSE ANCIENT GREECE AND THE OLYMPICS

A nonfiction companion to magic tree house # 16

Written By: Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce

 

13.   

HOPSKOTCH HISTORIES: POCAHONTAS THE PEACEMAKER

Pocahontas leads a quiet life until a ship full of strangers arrives in her village. Pocahontas wants to make friends but the chief does not trust them...Hopscotch Histories are brand new stories in historical settings, told in under 400 words, perfect for children who are building up their reading confidence

14.   

HOPSKOTCH HISTORIES: REMEMBER THE 5TH OF NOVEMBER

It's nearly the 5th of November and Guy Fawkes is stocking on barrels of gunpowder - what is he up to, and can anyone stop him? Hopscotch Histories are brand new stories in historical settings, told in under 400 words, perfect for children who are building up their reading confidence.

15.   

 TIME HUNTERS : GREEK WARRIORS BATTLE THE MIGHTIEST!

Join Tom on an incredible treasure hunt through time and battle history’s mightiest warriors. The fourth book in a new time-travelling series – perfect for fans of Beast Quest.

When ten-year-old Tom accidentally smashes a statue in a museum he releases Isis, a young Egyptian mummy who has been imprisoned for thousands of years. To break an ancient curse, the duo must travel back in time to find six hidden amulets – battling Gladiators, Knights, Greeks, Vikings, Pirates and Egyptian Warriors!

 

16.   

STEPPING STONES : ROBIN HOOD

Life in Sherwood Forest has never been livelier than with this selection of tales of the fun-loving outlaw and his merry men. A fast-moving adaptation of the classic adventure will delight older slow readers as well as kids reading on grade level.

17.   

THE SING-SONG OF OLD MAN KANGAROO

This story is about wanting to be famous. It features Old Man Kangaroo who, in his younger days, dances and sings in the Middle of Australia hoping a fan will notice how special he is and follow him everywhere. He eventually gets his wish granted, but maybe not quite in the way he expected. Sheila has brought Kipling's Classic work into the C21st without losing any of his poetry or humour. Brilliantly illustrated with four large full colour images per double page spread, theses books make ideal bedtime reading either with an adult or alone. A few simple notes at the back help to clarify some of Kipling's trickier words and phrases and also give a few ideas for creating stories of your own.

18.   

SERIOUSLY SILLY STORIES: DAFT JACK AND THE BEAN STACK

Daft Jack is such a silly-billy. Who else would swap a cow for some baked beans - and think it's his lucky day?

19.   

SERIOUSLY SILLY STORIES: GHOSTYSHOCKS AND THE THREE SCARES

Ghostyshocks is as jittery as a jellyfish when she gets lost in the forest - and has to go to the hairy, scary bears' house for help.

20.   

SERIOUSLY SILLY STORIES: LITTLE RED RIDING WOLF

The Big Bad Girl is always teasing Little Wolfie. She thinks her naughty tricks are funny - but who's going to get the last laugh?

21.   

THE GODS AND GODDESSES OF OLYMPUS

Long, long ago in ancient Greece, people began telling wonderful stories - or myths - to explain the mysteries of life and death. These myths tell about brave heroes, fearful monsters, and gods and goddesses. The mightiest gods and goddesses live in a golden palace high above the clouds on Mount Olympus. Zeus, the king of the gods, and his family reign supreme over gods and mortals alike.

22.   

EGYPTIAN GODS  AND GODDESSES

Paperback

Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap (2012)

Language: English

Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 0.4 x 22.9 cm

23.   

CLASSIC STARTS™: ROMAN MYTHS

Several of the best-loved Roman myths are gathered in this one beautiful abridged collection, from “Romulus and Remus” (which tells how Rome came to be) to “Cupid and Psyche,” “Oedipus and the Sphinx,” and more. For easy reference, there's also a detailed list and family tree of all the important gods and goddesses right at the start.

24.   

THE ORCHARD BOOK OF CLASSIC  SHAKESPEARE STORIES

A fabulous, foil-covered, celebratory edition of the much-loved gift book, now with a fresh new title The Orchard Book of Classic Shakespeare Stories. Over 30,000 copies of this trusted anthology have been sold, and this reissued and refreshed version ensures the collection will be enjoyed for generations to come. Eight of Shakespeare's best-loved plays, including Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Hamlet and Macbeth, are retold in this truly classic collection. Andrew Matthews' lively retellings capture all the drama and excitement of the original plays and Angela Barrett's beautiful illustrations bring the well-known characters and their stories gloriously to life.

25.   

MULTICULTURAL STORIES FROM: THE AMAZON

This beautifully illustrated collection of stories from one of the world's richest story-telling traditions is ideal for young readers and for reading aloud to 7-11 year-olds. Each story is introduced with information about its origins and the people who first started telling it, and maps locate the places associated with it. The book includes a glossary and sources of further information as well as ideas for activities that children can do to explore the stories and Amazonian culture further. Retold by an experienced writer of stories for the young, this is a book to inform and entertain in equal measure.

 

Seccion: